User Documentation > Sharing project content with other users
Sharing project content with other users
SCENE WebShare Cloud offers sharing of project content (scans, annotations, measurements) with other users. As in most Internet applications, there are possibilities to give or restrict access to users.
Visible: The object is visible in any view. This implies that the object is also accessible. If the object visibility is limited or even deactivated, other users won't see the object anyway. See Scan View for more information.
Modifiable: The object can be accessed and modified. Modifications include: editing the properties (e.g., renaming), editing the share options, removing the object.
Accessible: The object can be accessed, e.g., by loading it from server and read its properties.
Possible share options
The object is only accessible and modifiable to the person that created the object. This option is default, which means any object in SCENE WebShare Cloud has this share option after creating.
Read-only: The object is accessible for everyone who can access the project, though it is only modifiable by the creator. If such an object is selected during a task that requires write access (e.g., edit, share or remove) the selected object has a lock symbol rights.
Read + write: The object is accessible for everyone who can access the project and who has the user role (this role is always required for editing project content).
Note: Write access means that someone can delete content another person created. To be sure about this, a warning appears.
Special case: SCENE exports
All objects which had been exported from SCENE are read-only for users without project manager access. Users with Project Manager access can edit content by using the editing features in the Project Access pages.
Note: If the Project Manager has configured it, you can also share project pages with users who do not have access to the project. See, Share the current view of a SCENE WebShare Cloud page.
Preventing concurrent access
This mechanism prevents users from overwriting changes by other users or by the same user on another window/device.
Example:
User A opens a scan and changes the name of a shared annotation ABC to ABCDEF.
User B wants to rename the same shared annotation to ZZZ.
This operation will fail in the first run and renames the annotation to ABCDEF, what user B will see as well. If user B still wants to rename the annotation, he can try it another time.